I Don’t Read Black Authors

Hey Everyone! So today I’m talking about my habit of not reading books by black authors or even of any ethnicity besides white.

Okay, I’m sorry. I made the title make me seem racist just for clicks but I really have noticed that my little library I have in front of me is made up mostly of white, male authors. It’s not something I do on purpose or consciously but I really want to change that. I really want to start reading more novels written by nonwhite and nonmale authors. PLEASE comment down below or email me vanesawordpress@gmail.com to recommend me some novels to diverse my library. 

DIVERSE. That’s an important word when it comes to almost anything in life. Employers want diversity in their offices, colleges and universities want diversity in their student population but what does this word mean for novels and publishing?

It means that authors who do not fall into to majority are being recognized just as much as the majority, that they are respected and given the same opportunities that the majority receives. This topic really resonated with me when it first came to my attention right before I attended Bookcon 2014. When I first bought my tickets I mostly bought it because many of my favorite authors were attending but what did they all have in common? White Males. Honestly, I didn’t really notice at first but social media blew up on this and eventually there was a group called We Need Diverse Books at the convention. They brought the issue to the light and because of them, more female and ethnic authors were added to the list. (I stopped by the booth and even got a bookmark. I have it taped to my wall!) 

Throughout this year, I’ve been more aware of the books I read. I do more research on authors but I still havent committed to reading more diverse books. This is where I need YOU. From now on, I will be reading one diverse book a month (I know it’s not a lot but I have a busy schedule and only manage to read 3-5 books a month.) I may read more if I have an easy month. Again, this is where I need YOU. I need YOU to comment and tell me what you think about it. Tell me about books you would recommend to me. Also, tell me what other ISSUES you’ve noticed in the reading, book blogs, booktube, publishing community.

I already have a post about Why YA Novels Suck that you should check out. 

Please follow this blog! Share this post and follow my twitter @rigorousreads

I can be contacted at vanesawordpress@gmail.com

*****DISCLAIMER****** I am not racist, I am not sexist. 

Thank you for reading! Have a Great Day!

Leave a Reply

